Edit, Cancel, or Pause a Membership in Bold Memberships

Overview

Bold Memberships allows you to make adjustments to your memberships' plans on an individual basis, whether it be editing their payments, pausing their access, or cancelling it altogether.

There may be a variety of reasons that you'd want to change an individual customer's plan, such as adding a charge to a free member's plan, or cancelling it on behalf of a customer.

Select the corresponding accordion to view the instructions:

Bold Memberships offers you the flexibility to make adjustments to your customers' membership plans. You're able to change their billing amount, payment intervals, the number of payments, and offer additional trial time.

Note: This will only change a customer's membership plan on an individual basis. Editing the membership plan as a whole will affect all customers.

Customers will receive an email informing them of their plan changes, and will need to accept it before the change goes into effect. You can set a grace period in the app's general settings, which gives them a certain period of time to accept the changes before their plan is cancelled. The status next to their name will inform you of their account's standing.

To edit a customer's membership plan, please follow these steps:

  1. From Shopify's admin, select Apps.
  2. Select Recurring Memberships.
  3. Select Memberships.

    From the top navigation menu, select Memberships

  4. Under "Actions", select the gear icon next to the customer who's plan you want to edit.

    Next to the membership you'd like to adjust, select the gear icon under Actions

  5. Select Edit.

    From the Actions dropdown menu, select Edit (first option)

  6. Select Edit.

    In the pop-up menu, select Edit, which is next to their payment option

  7. Adjust their subscription information accordingly.

    Adjust the billing information accordingly; the top row from left to right reads Cycle Pricing (enter the amount in dollars that customers will pay each cycle), Biling Cycle (choose between weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly that customers are charged the cycle pricing amount), and how many payments (if forever is checked, payments will not stop, otherwise customesr pay a certain amount of times), and below that you can set a trial length if you'd like

  8. Select Save.

    In the bottom-right corner, select Save

To cancel a customer's membership manually in Bold Memberships, please follow these steps:

  1. From Shopify's admin, select Apps.
  2. Select Recurring Memberships.
  3. Select Memberships.

    Select_Memberships.png

  4. Select Settings (the gear icon).

    Select_Settings__The_Gear_Icon_.png

  5. Select Cancel.

    Select_Cancel.png

  6. Select Yes.

     

 Caution

Membership pausing can only be done for members that purchased a membership via PayPal. There is currently no way to pause memberships purchased via Stripe at this time.

If you want to temporarily pause a customer's membership, you can do so indefinitely or for a specified amount of time.

Additionally, you can choose to suspend their membership perks & access while their payments are on hold.

To pause a customer's membership, please follow these steps:

  1. From Shopify's admin, select Apps.
  2. Select Recurring Memberships.
  3. Select Memberships.

    From the top navigation menu, select Memberships

  4. Select Settings (the gear icon).

    Next to the membership you'd like to adjust, select the gear icon under Actions

  5. Select Pause.

    Within the Settings dropdown menu, select Pause (third one from the top)

  6. Enter the date that billing will resume (optional).

    On the right-hand side of the pop-up menu, you're able to select Resume Billing Date On and open up a calendar to choose the date that the customer's billing will resume

  7. Select Disable any special member website access as well (optional).

    Note: This will restrict customers with membership plans from accessing member-only sections of your website.

    Underneath the pause/resume billing date options, in the middle of the pop-up, you can check Disable Any Special Member Website Access As Well in order to revoke access to your members-only sections

  8. Select Pause.

    In the bottom-right corner of the pop-up menu, select Pause

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful